The Blog Has Moved !

Friday, February 20, 2009

Astronomical Society of Dharmaraja College, Kandy


Dharmaraja College-Kandy has a long based history regarding astronomy. But it was around the year 1996, the ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY of DHARMARAJA COLLEGE (ASDRC) KANDY-SRI LANKA, legally came into existence. It is the common meeting place for students of Dharmaraja College to communicate-investigate-standardizethe knowledge pertaining to astronomy and allied sciences. Since then, ASDRC was able to serve the school community as well as the entire nation with a wealth of scientific intuition. Today it remains the unprecedented high-school Astronomical Society in Sri Lanka besides being the progenitor institution for a number of other astronomical societies all around the country. Now with immense pride and prestige, it has entered the global community as well.


Astronomical Society of Dharmaraja College held its annual Astronomy workshop on Saturday, 15th November 2008 in grand scale. Theme of the program was 'Expanding The Universal Imagination '08'. Senior Professor Tissa R. Herath conducted a great lecture on Astrobiology and another lecturer, Sumudu Weerasekera conducted a lecture on Solar System. There were enough items to keep up the attendees all night and examine their knowledge. 'Astro Olympiad' challenge trophy - the most prestigious inter-school Astronomy quiz competition in the Sri Lankan Astronomy quiz arena, conducted by ASDRC for the 7th consecutive year, was won by Nalanda College, Colombo-10 and observation title was taken by Ananda College, Colombo-10. Quiz competition was held as preliminary round, semi finals and grand final, as usual. The Rajans' Sky Observation competition was organized for the third consecutive year. Due to the non favorable weather conditions on that day, observation competition was circumscribed to Moon Sketching, Deep Sky Observation and Constellation Mapping. Organizers received a very good internal and external response for their work. Committee extends its utmost heartfelt gratitude to all its members and past pupils who contributed to make this event a success.