The Blog Has Moved !

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Sri Lanka Astronomical Association AALK

Sri Lanka Astronomical Association logo
Sri Lanka Astronomical Association was earlier known as Ceylon Astronomical Association. The Ceylon Astronomical Association was founded in June 1959. The Association is a non-profit association, founded by late Sir Arthur C. Clarke and late Herschel Gunawardane. It is for the purpose of popularizing and enhancing Sri Lankan expertise on education of astronomy and other related studies.

The AALK is headquartered at SLAAS (Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science) , Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The association conducts occasional lectures and observation camps to educate the people on latest issues of astronomy. Thus during the course of 59 years of its history, the association has rendered an immense service to the country through astronomy.

The current president of Sri Lanka Astronomical Association is Prof. Kavan Ratnatunga
and the general secretary is Mr. Thilina Heenatigala

The official website is